What my Yaris 2016 taught me


“Nice Car!” this is the usual reaction I get when people see my white Toyota Yaris 2016. I bought one 3 days before my birthday.

Toyota has been my family’s trusted car brand ever since so naturally, Toyota on top of my list.  And since Toyota is very much known for its durability, quality and reliability, it was the obvious choice for me. We visited several show rooms and I immediately fell in love with the Yaris.

 

IMG_0863

I was drawn to the classic, elegant, hip look. I have always loved hatchbacks as the streets are usually filled with Sedans.   Later on, I learned that the name Yaris is combination of a Greek word “Charis” which means beauty, grace and elegance and the German “Ya” which means “yes.”

I also came across a super cool and pretty Yaris commercial done by Katie Perry which all the more made me decide it is the car for me. You may click the link to see it.

th

Our family needed a more reliable car so we opted to buy a new one.  Our 16-year old trusted Toyota XL named “Toyi” is still with us but there are times when repairs are needed so we had to have a new one.

It all started with a need, followed by online research and showroom visitations to see the actual unit. Choosing a bank to  help with the purchase is a challenge because there are so many choices! I decided to pay more for the downpayment so I can pay a smaller monthly amortization.  By the way, do note that there is a big price difference when you choose to talk to a dealer. With a dealer, you can have a car by paying a super low downpayment, with a higher monthly amortization.

I got my car via UnionBank.  My Relationship Managers – Mr. VJ Vergara and Geneberlaine Santiago Garde are so friendly and accommodating, especially when I had LOTS of questions.  (Oh, you may reach them at tel no. 667-6388 loc 8586 or via email gasantiago@unionbankph.com.) They referred me to a nice dealer, signed the needed documents with the hubby, paid the downpayment and got my car the next day!

 

IMG_1018

Proud and happy owner

But that is now what I want to talk about today. Here are 3 lessons learned.

1. BE SERIOUS ABOUT YOUR FAITH GOAL

A faith goal is a list of Goals that I do every start of the year.  I prayerfully list my goals and pray for them. My Faith goal list 2006 includes a new car, but I didn’t go for it, It was just there- a faith goal on paper–pero when I earnestly prayed for it (10 years after) and wanted it! VOOM! God caused things to fall into place! You really, really, really have to want it.

2. SOMETIMES GOD GIVES IT TO YOU NO SWEAT, BUT SOMETIMES YOU HAVE TO SHOW HIM YOUR FAITHFULNESS 

In my case, I had to save and keep a portion of my salary and dedicate it to my dream. It went through the “boring” route of saving every payday pero I believe that God honored my little act of faithfulness and blessed it!  Also, there was an unexpected blessing which only God can do!

3. GOD SEES OUR HEART – My motivation– LOVE, SERVICE.

We have an old, sturdy car, Toyi, which we still use.  There are moments when the temp goes up so the Husband would park on the side of the road to put water in the radiator.  These are moments when I say a little prayer to God – “Lord, I know You will bless us with a New Car in Your time.”

I also resolved in my heart that we will have a new car to service my family who will be visiting from the US.  I will drive for them as a way of giving back, and showing my love.

I am done with my driving lessons and can now drive short distances.  May I have the courage and confidence to drive and park on my own.

Any driving tips for me? 

Yippee! I am now a happy car owner!

XOXO,
Shane

 

2 thoughts on “What my Yaris 2016 taught me

Some words from you please...

