Taking Gifting to the Next Level

Why don’t you give love on Christmas day?

We all know the song, and the truth – that it gets even better when the love  you give also comes with a present. I have always been a fan of “little things.” To me, what is important is that someone remembered and someone cared enough to give me a present. That thought alone makes my heart melt.

Don’t you just love it when Christmas is near? There’s that festive, happy mood everywhere! People are just extra kind and generous. Kids are excited, dreaming of toys and gadgets and counting the days before they get to open their presents.  It is just amazing that people from different backgrounds – Moms and dads, aunts and uncles, ninongs and ninangs, sweethearts and friends make lists and take time to buy presents to show that they care.

Christmas List for me and family

Six weeks away from Christmas and I constantly remind myself to finalize my list, choose with care and head to a nearby SM Mall to purchase them.  Note to self: Include myself in my Christmas list. Oh, how I often forget myself for Christmas. So for this year, I’m giving myself a gift.

a9e8774ebccc299b946f606c8080f4f0_w600

A red Asha love seat, Our Home

I’ve always wanted to buy a sofa that I can put in my nook, a special place in our house where I can read my favorite books, write and enjoy my quiet, quality time. More than a sofa, it tells me that there is one place in the house where I can just be myself and enjoy time with coffee and soft music in the background.

For my husband – an acoustic guitar.  I know he wants one.   I would love to have more music in the house and would like to expose our 4 year old son, Lukas, to love music as much as I do.  Consequently, The husband always wanted another baby and if it is God’s will,  why not? 🙂

PRAIRIE%20CHERRY%20SB%20LH

RJ Prairie Professional Folk Guitar

 

 

Lukas may wake up on Christmas morn with a new bike! Can’t wait to see how his eyes would sparkle when he sees it. He’s turning 5 next year and what is a little boy without a bike? Perhaps this can be an opportunity for all of us to have our own bikes and spend time outdoors with the family.

bike

Blue boy’s bike

 

Unconditional gifts

I believe that the best gifts are those which are given without any expectation of getting something in return, where the intent of the giver is just to be a blessing to others in need.  Unconditional gift-giving starts by sharing a piece of yourself.

Here’s sharing what my family have given others / done in the past:

  • Personally arranged Fruit basket
  • Spaghetti pack (pasta, spaghetti sauce) for families
  • A set of school supplies (paper, pencils, eraser, art paper, clear envelope) for school-aged children
  • Snack pack: Biscuits, noodles, powdered milk, crackers for children
  • Partner with UNICEF or World Vision by sponsoring a child or giving a monthly pledge

SM Christmas Bears of Joy 

Bears-of-Joy-2014

IMG_3916

There is another way we can make a child happy. We can partner with SM Cares.  For Php 200.00, you get to keep one bear and donate the other to children from various orphanages and charitable institutions through the SM Cares program.  Imagine a child so happy, she got a cute, huggable teddy bear for Christmas. Truly, there’s joy in giving.

Gift giving can be a chore to deal with but with loving intention and care, can be a source of fulfillment.  The best ones are those we give just because.  I’m reminded of how God gave the best gift of all that first Christmas. He saw our need for a Savior and sent His son Jesus to us even when we are unable to reciprocate His love. Truly unconditional giving displayed in love.

Happy gift giving everyone!

SM-Supermalls-Pre-Christmas-Ad-9cols-x-51cm

 “For more updates about this year’s “Merry SM Christmas” campaign, visit SM’s official Christmas microsite (https://www.smsupermalls.com/merrysmchristmas2015) and follow its official social media accounts at Facebook (https://www.facebook.com/smsupermalls), Twitter (https://twitter.com/smsupermalls), and Instagram (https://instagram.com/smsupermalls/); and get an insider access to all the fun happenings at SM Supermalls nationwide through Viber (http://chats.viber.com/SMsupermalls). Shoppers can actively share their holiday merriments inside the SM Supermalls by posting their photos on social media and adding the hashtag #MerrySMChristmas2015.”

Some words from you please...

