5 B’s to Better Blogging (My Key Take-aways from Professional Blogging Summit)

I love learning new stuff!

Last Saturday, October 18, #dPop or Digital Pop held a Professional Blogging Summit at A.Venue Mall in Makati. The half-day event was spearheaded by  Janette Toral and Jeoff Solas, who are truly influential in the world of Philippine blogging.

Our venue is actually quite cool. It has a modern and relaxing feel to it.

IMG_4341

My thanks to  Liberating JepoyA. Venue MallIsland RoseProFriends, and Salad Box for sponsoring the event. I am grateful for learning events like this.

I got to listen to various speakers who willingly shared with us their stories on how they started out. I appreciated valuable insights towards responsible and influential blogging firsthand from Azrael ColadillaRoss del RosarioJayL AquinoSeph ChamJeoff Solas, and Sai Montes.

IMG_4344

 Ms. Janette Toral formally opening the program

IMG_4345

IMG_4346

IMG_4352

Azrael Colladilla, Ross Del Rosario and JayL Aquino on Building a Blogger Network

IMG_4363

 Seph Cham on his Journey towards Endorsements and Entrepreneurship

IMG_4369

Jeoff Solas on Maintaining Goodwill Relationships

IMG_4373

Sai Montes on Social Media E-Commerce

Sharing with you my insights on the summit:

 5 B’s TO BETTER BLOGGING

1. BUILD RELATIONSHIPS

Being a blogger cannot be a solo project. Sure, you do your writing alone and surely there are “lone rangers” out there, but unless you are a celebrity, you can only do so much. If we want growth, then we have to connect with people. Growth and learning is inevitable when we become a part of communities. It helps to have an open mind and heart because you will learn a lot. In Blogosphere, growth is a community project.

Be friendly and don’t be afraid to connect with other bloggers, companies, sponsors and PR people.  So far, I have met wonderful people who are surprisingly wiling to share what they know to help out starters like me. What a blessing to learn from others! For sure I will meet a whole lot more of people in the future. Through them, I expand my world and become better at what I do.  And by the way, being a part of a community gives you a heads-up on exciting events, worthy causes, product launches and many others.

It pays to be a part of a “bigger” world!

2. BE MINDFUL OF WHAT YOU WRITE

As speakers talked about various topics, I realized how powerful blogging is. What I have written stays there, forever (at least until WordPress takes it down).  A review of a resto, an event, a product can influence, if not, alter others’ perception. Believe it or not, reviews count. A LOT.

I am encouraged to stay true to myself and write about products that really tickles my fancy and makes me smile. I know that giving an honest, unbiased review may be difficult especially when companies give you all sorts of freebies. But hey, let’s not forget that we are there not just to help businesses thrive but help them improve their products and services as well.

Should there be a service that needs improvement, I choose to be a friend, helping another friend. Nothing beats that!

3. BUILD YOUR BRAND

What is your brand? How intentional are you about building yours? Without you knowing it, your personality and “voice” shines with every post you make. Are you the sentimental type who writes about hearty things or the serious type who blogs about “heavy” important issues? Are you the happy, light-hearted type who’s like a ray of sunshine to your readers?

Be intentional about the image that you show the world. Let every posts you make show YOU. Find your voice. It may be difficult at first, but as you write and keep doing it, your voice and personality naturally emerge. Take good photos. Have a brand that talks about you in a way that is true to you. Dare to be uniquely you when you blog.

4. BE VISIBLE

If you are truly serious about blogging, people are bound to follow you. How visible are you? Social media is constantly evolving. Make your followers happy by updating them via Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, Pinterest and many others. Strive to be consistent with your posts. Share your experiences for your readers. You may join events, bazaars, trade shows and many others to keep them updated with what is happening with you.

5. BLOG ABOUT YOUR EXPERIENCES

At the end of the day, blogging is about you sharing your experiences to the world.  Some people may agree with your points and some may not. (I assure you this is normal). But it is about being brave to speak your heart and mind to the world. If some disagrees with what you’ve posted, hear them out, respect their opinion and continue to be better.

I am thankful to all the speakers who shared their experiences in the Summit. Now I have seen concrete examples of real people who continues to be influential through their chosen platform which is blogging.

I have learned that you may blog your way to:

–  Win awards and become person of influence
–  Find your calling (PR / Marketing) and be a part of bigger organization
–  Launch your own business
–  Partner with others to help grow both yours and their businesses
–  Achieve celebrity status (Yup..it is possible!)  🙂

Ultimately for me, I have learned that I can do what I love to do, have it complement my lifestyle and basically make a difference by adding fun and excitement to my every day!

Bloom, Blossom and Grow through blogging!

IMG_4370

Me and my new blogger friends!

blogger-image--712040478

6 thoughts on “5 B’s to Better Blogging (My Key Take-aways from Professional Blogging Summit)

  1. hi shaaaane!! great article! ;XD i agree with #5, blogging is really about being honest w/ yourself by sharing your personal experiences! ;XD nice meeting you back there! see you whenever! hehe

    Like

Some words from you please...

